23 de octubre de 2009

Program of Berlin 2009

El próximo 11 de noviembre, Silo hablará sobre la Paz y la No-violencia en Berlín ante los Premios Nobel de la Paz en el Aniversario de la caída del Muro.
Marcha Mundial por la Paz y la No-violencia.

“Breaking down new walls and building bridges to ensure

a World of Human Rights and a World without violence”

Berlin, Rathaus, 10 -11 November 2009

Participants and Invitees:

Mikhail Gorbachev, Frederik Willem De Klerk, Lech Walesa, Muhammad Yunus, Mairead Corrigan Maguire, Betty Williams, United Nations (UN), Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (IPPNW), International Peace Bureau (IPB), American Friends Service Committee (AFSC), Pugwash Conferences (PUGWASH), International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), Amnesty International (AI), International Labour Organization (ILO), International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL), United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF).

Walter Veltroni, José Manuel Barroso (President of the European Commission), Sein Win (Prime Minister of Burma’s Government in exile), Ahmed Kathrada (Nelson Mandela Foundation), Martin Frick (General Director of the Global Humanitarian Forum), David Steward (President of Frederik Willem De Klerk Foundation), Piotr Gulczynski (President of Lech Walesa Foundation), Ingrid Betancourt, H.E. Ambassador Thomas Stelzer (Assistant Secretary-General for Policy Coordination and Inter-Agency Affairs, Department of Economic and Social Affairs), Alexander Likhotal (President of Green Cross International), David Ives (Executive Director of Albert Schweitzer Institute), Gensei Ito (President ASCA), Jonathan Granoff (President of Global Security Institute), Glenda Paige (Center for Global Nonviolence), Maria Sachs (Congressman, Florida), Mario Luis Rodriguez Cobos (World March for Peace and Nonviolence), Giulietto Chiesa (World Political Forum), Agazio Loiero (President of Calabria Region), Tom Brokaw (NBC), Michael Binyon (The Times), Luisa Brunori (Presidente Osservatorio italiano per la Microfinanza), Peter Spiegel (Head of the GENISIS-Institute for Social Business and Impact Strategies), Prof. Franz Josef Radermacher, (member of the Club of Rome and founder of the Global Marshall Plan initiative).

Tuesday, 10th November

9.30 Opening speeches:

  • Klaus Wowereit, the Governing Mayor of Berlin
  • Walter Veltroni, co-Chairman of the Summit
  • Mikhail Gorbachev, Chairman of the Summit
  • Greeting from Josè Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission (tbc)

11.00 – 13.00 First session: 20 Years after the fall of the Berlin Wall: what were its implications and what has changed since then?

Session Leaders: Mikhail Gorbachev, Lech Walesa, Frederik Willem De Klerk and representatives of Nobel Peace Laureates organizations

Moderator: Tom Brokaw (NBC)


14.30 – 16.30 Second session: Walls between rich and poor: breaking down the barriers between the developed and developing world

Session Leaders: Muhammad Yunus and representatives of Nobel Peace Laureates organizations

Moderator: Peter Spiegel (GENISIS-Institute for Social Business and Impact Strategies)

16.45 – 18.45 Third session: Walls of menace to the Environment: Breaking down the walls that constrain environmental and sustainable development prospects

Session Leaders: Martin Frick, (Global Humanitarian Forum) and representatives of Nobel Peace Laureates organizations

Moderator: Alexander Likhotal (Green Cross International)

Wednesday, 11th November

9.00 Official presentation of the Charter for a World without violence

to the World March for Peace and Nonviolence

  • Introductory speech by Mairead Corrigan Maguire
  • Speeches by Mario Luis Rodriguez Cobos (World March for Peace and Nonviolence)
  • Nobel Peace Laureates handing over the Charter for a world without violence to the World March for Peace and Nonviolence

09.30 – 11.00 Fourth session: Walls of Nuclear Weapons and Armament: building up a world free from nuclear weapons and weapons of mass destruction.

Session Leaders: Mikhail Gorbachev, Frederick Willem De Klerk, and other Nobel Peace Laureates organizations.

Moderator: Giulietto Chiesa (World Political Forum)

11.00 – 12.30 Fifth session: Walls of Intolerance: breaking down walls between cultural, religious and ethnic communities.

Session Leaders: Betty Williams, Mairead Corrigan Maguire, John Hume, and representatives of Nobel Peace Laureates organizations

Moderator: Michael Binyon (The Times)

13.00 Summit’s Peace Award Ceremony – Press Conference: Summit Final Declaration

Nobel Peace Laureates honour with the Peace Summit Award the men or woman amongst the personalities selected within the culture and entertainment business who have stood out in the defence of human rights and in the diffusion of the principles of Peace and Solidarity in the world.

No hay comentarios: